GLPC Committees and Governance

The GLPC has a governance structure to ensure efficiency and effectiveness of our work. A Core Team of staff are involved in administration and day-to-day operations of the GLPC. An Advisory Committee meets bi-annually to share program updates and connect on ongoing GLPC work. A Steering Committee meets more frequently to advance specific tasks and projects that do not require participation of the entire Advisory Committee. Finally, Observers are an arms-length group that are informed of GLPC progress and assist or provide feedback when necessary.

Click the buttons below to learn more about each of these groups and their members. Please contact us if you would like to participate.

Core Team

A core team of staff at the Great Lakes Commission and US Geological Survey are responsible for administrative duties, communication, and leadership in development of tools for the GLPC. The core team meets monthly.

Erika Jensen – Program Manager

Great Lakes Commission

ejensen@glc.org

734-971-9135

Kurt Kowalski – Research Ecologist

US Geological Survey – Great Lakes Science Center

kkowalski@usgs.gov

734-214-9308

Elaine Ferrier – Senior Program Specialist

Great Lakes Commission

eferrier@glc.org

734-971-9135

 
Samantha Stanton

Program Specialist

Great Lakes Commission

sstanton@glc.org

 
Dan Engel 

US Geological Survey

dengel@usgs.gov

734-971-9135

 
Wes Bickford

Wetland Research Analyst

US Geological Survey – Great Lakes Science Center

Wbickford@usgs.gov

 

 

 

Advisory Committee

Great Lakes Phragmites Collaborative Advisory Committee includes representation from federal, state and provincial governments and the broad group of stakeholders engaged in invasive Phragmites management, research, restoration, education, and outreach throughout the Great Lakes Basin. The Committee provides guidance and leadership to the Collaborative as it works to develop products, facilitate communication, and foster collaboration across the region.

Federal Government Agencies

Joshua Booker
Great Lakes Zone Biologist
US Fish and Wildlife Service, Midwest Region
Stationed at Ottawa National Wildlife Refuge
joshua_booker@fws.gov

Nathan Helms
Invasive Species Specialist & Project Manager
Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore
nathan_helms@fws.gov

Linda Nelson
Assistant Technical Director for
Environmental Engineering and Sciences
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
linda.s.nelson@usace.army.mil

Norman Melvin
Botanist and Wetland Team Leader
USDA – Natural Resource Conservation Service
norman.melvin@ftw.usda.gov

Brian Smith
Ecologist
Federal Highway Administration
U.S. Department of Transportation
bsmith@dot.gov

State/Province Government Agencies

Heather Braun
Habitat Biologist
Environment and Climate Change Canada
heather.braun@canada.ca

Colin Cassin
Coordinator
Ontario Invasive Plant Council
colin@oninvasives.ca

Jennifer Dunn
Biologist
New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
jrtait@gw.dec.state.ny.us

Meaghan Gass
Extension Educator
Michigan Sea Grant
gassmeag@anr.msu.edu 

Francine MacDonald
Biodiversity Policy Section
Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
francine.macdonald@ontario.ca

Dave Sherman
Wetland Habitat Coordinator
Ohio Division of Wildlife
dave.sherman@dnr.state.oh.us

Brock Woods
Purple Loosetrife Biocontrol Coordinator and Wetland Invasive Plant Programs
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
brock.woods@wisconsin.gov

Tribal Communities

Seeking representatives – please contact if interested.

Local and Non-profit Organizations

Jason Hill
Manager of Conservation Programs
Ducks Unlimited, Inc.
jhill@ducks.org

Chris May
Director of Stewardship
The Nature Conservancy, Michigan
cmay@tnc.org

Janice Gilbert
Wetland Ecologist and Co-Chair
Ontario Phragmites Working Group
janicegilbert@rogers.com

 Academia

Bernd Blossey
Associate Professor
Cornell University
bb22@cornell.edu

Eric Hazelton
Research Ecologist
Utah State University 
eric@hazelton-ecological.com

Andrea Locke
Coordinator – Western New York PRISM
Buffalo State University
lockeas@buffalostate.edu

Doug Wilcox
Empire Innovation Professor of Wetland Science
State University of New York, Brockport
dwilcox@brockport.edu

Steering Committee

In 2016 a Steering Committee was established which is a smaller group that meets more frequently. The first key tasks of the Steering Committee were to develop a GLPC Charter to be approved by the Advisory Committee, and to assist in planning a winter 2017 workshop.

The Steering Committee includes the GLPC Core Team and the following members:

Brian Smith
Ecologist
Federal Highway Administration
U.S. Department of Transportation
bsmith@dot.gov
708-283-3553

Chris May
Director of Stewardship
The Nature Conservancy, Michigan
cmay@tnc.org
517-316-2274

Janice Gilbert
Wetland Ecologist and Co-Chair
Ontario Phragmites Working Group
janicegilbert@rogers.com
519-875-1765

Observers

Observers are partners who are interested in keeping track of the work of the GLPC and providing assistance and feedback as necessary, but are not involved in regular meetings.

Rochelle Sturtevant
Regional Sea Grant Extension Educator
Michigan Sea Grant
rochelle.sturtevant@noaa.gov
734-741-2287

Julie Sims
Regional Coordinator
Great Lakes Habitat Restoration Program
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
julie.sims@noaa.gov
734-741-2385

Amos Ziegler
MISIN Coordinator
Midwest Invasive Species Information Network
Michigan State University
ziegler2@msu.edu
517-355-0204

Don UzarskiDirector, Institute for Great Lakes ResearchCentral Michigan University
uzars1dg@cmich.edu
989-774-2504

Phyllis Higman
Senior Conservation Scientist
Conservation Education Lead
Michigan Natural Features Inventory
higman@msu.edu
517-373-6983