Core Team and Committees

The GLPC has a governance structure to ensure efficiency and effectiveness of our work. A Core Team of staff are involved in administration and day-to-day operations of the GLPC. An Advisory Committee meets bi-annually to share program updates and connect on ongoing GLPC work. A Steering Committee meets more frequently to advance specific tasks and projects that do not require participation of the entire Advisory Committee. Finally, Observers are an arms-length group that are informed of GLPC progress and assist or provide feedback when necessary.

Click the buttons below to learn more about each of these groups and their members. Please contact us if you would like to participate.

Core Team

A core team of staff at the Great Lakes Commission and US Geological Survey are responsible for administrative duties, communication, and leadership in development of tools for the GLPC. The core team meets monthly.

Kurt Kowalski
Research Wetland Ecologist
U.S. Geological Survey – Great Lakes Science Center
kkowalski@usgs.gov

Erika Jensen
Program Manager
Great Lakes Commission
ejensen@glc.org

Elaine Ferrier
Sr. Program Specialist
Great Lakes Commission
eferrier@glc.org

Samantha Tank
Program Specialist
Great Lakes Commission
sam@glc.org

Dan Engel
Lynxnet, LLC contractor in support of the U.S. Geological Survey
Lake Michigan Ecological Research Station
dengel@contractor.usgs.gov

Advisory Committee

Great Lakes Phragmites Collaborative Advisory Committee includes representation from federal, state and provincial governments and the broad group of stakeholders engaged in invasive Phragmites management, research, restoration, education, and outreach throughout the Great Lakes Basin. The Committee provides guidance and leadership to the Collaborative as it works to develop products, facilitate communication, and foster collaboration across the region.

Federal Government Agencies

Joshua Booker
Great Lakes Zone Biologist
US Fish and Wildlife Service, Midwest Region
Stationed at Ottawa National Wildlife Refuge
joshua_booker@fws.gov

Heather Braun
Habitat Biologist – Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment and Climate Change Canada
heather.braun@canada.ca

Linda Nelson
Assistant Technical Director for
Environmental Engineering and Sciences
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
linda.s.nelson@usace.army.mil

Brian Smith
Ecologist
Federal Highway Administration
U.S. Department of Transportation
bsmith@dot.gov

Rochelle Sturtevant
GLANSIS Program Manager
NOAA Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory
rochelle.sturtevant@noaa.gov

State/Province Government Agencies

Natalie Boyd
Habitat Biologist
Environment and Climate Change Canada
heather.braun@canada.ca

Francine MacDonald
Biodiversity Policy Section
Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
francine.macdonald@ontario.ca

Rich Rezanka
Biologist
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
richard.rezanka@state.mn.us

Dave Sherman
Wetland Habitat Coordinator
Ohio Division of Wildlife
dave.sherman@dnr.state.oh.us

Gia Wagner
Natural Resource Branch Chief
National Park Service – Indiana Dunes National Park
gia_wagner@nps.gov

Kevin Walters
Aquatic Biologist – Aquatic Invasive Species
Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes and Energy
waltersk3@michigan.gov

Brock Woods
Purple Loosetrife Biocontrol Coordinator and Wetland Invasive Plant Programs
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
brock.woods@wisconsin.gov

Tribal Communities

Travis Bartnick
Wildlife Biologist
Great Lakes Indian Fish and Wildlife Commission
tbartnick@glifwc.org 

Alex Wieten
Water Resources Specialist
Gun Lake Tribe
alex.wieten@glt-nsn.gov

Gabrielle VanBergen
Project Coordinator – Treaty Natural Resources Specialist
Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
alex.wieten@glt-nsn.gov

Local and Non-profit Organizations

Jason Hill
Manager of Conservation Programs
Ducks Unlimited, Inc.
jhill@ducks.org

Chris May
Director of Stewardship
The Nature Conservancy, Michigan
cmay@tnc.org

Janice Gilbert
Wetland Ecologist and Co-Chair
Ontario Phragmites Working Group
janicegilbert@rogers.com

 Academia

Bernd Blossey
Associate Professor
Cornell University
bb22@cornell.edu

Meaghan Gass
Sea Grant Extension Educator
Michigan State University Extension Sea Grant
gassmeag@msu.edu 

Andrea Locke
Coordinator – Western New York PRISM
Buffalo State University
lockeas@buffalostate.edu

Doug Wilcox
Empire Innovation Professor of Wetland Science
State University of New York, Brockport
dwilcox@brockport.edu

Steering Committee

In 2016 a Steering Committee was established which is a smaller group that meets more frequently. The first key tasks of the Steering Committee were to develop a GLPC Charter to be approved by the Advisory Committee, and to assist in planning a winter 2017 workshop.

The Steering Committee includes the GLPC Core Team and the following members:

Brian Smith
Ecologist
Federal Highway Administration
U.S. Department of Transportation
bsmith@dot.gov

Chris May
Director of Stewardship
The Nature Conservancy, Michigan
cmay@tnc.org

Janice Gilbert
Wetland Ecologist and Executive Director
Invasive Phragmites Control Centre
janicegilbert@rogers.com

 

Observers

Observers are partners who are interested in keeping track of the work of the GLPC and providing assistance and feedback as necessary, but are not involved in regular meetings.

Rochelle Sturtevant
Regional Sea Grant Extension Educator
Michigan Sea Grant
rochelle.sturtevant@noaa.gov
734-741-2287

Julie Sims
Regional Coordinator
Great Lakes Habitat Restoration Program
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
julie.sims@noaa.gov
734-741-2385

Amos Ziegler
MISIN Coordinator
Midwest Invasive Species Information Network
Michigan State University
ziegler2@msu.edu
517-355-0204

Don UzarskiDirector, Institute for Great Lakes ResearchCentral Michigan University
uzars1dg@cmich.edu
989-774-2504

Phyllis Higman
Senior Conservation Scientist
Conservation Education Lead
Michigan Natural Features Inventory
higman@msu.edu
517-373-6983