Webinar Series

 

Phraggy mascotOur webinar series focuses on sharing the latest research and management techniques to foster dialogue and technology transfer throughout the region. All statements made by webinar presenters are their own and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the Great Lakes Phragmites Collaborative. If you are interested in presenting a webinar in our series, contact us!

Recent Webinar Recordings

 

Using molecular genomic tools to investigate genetic diversity and hybridization in Phragmites

Presented by: Nic Tippery, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

May 23rd, 2023 | 2:30–3:30 pm ET

Watch Here!
European Frog-bit: An aquatic invasive plant often associated with Phragmites

Presented by: Tom Alwin, Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy

April 25th, 2023 | 10:30–11:30 am ET

Watch Here!
Native wetland plant recovery following herbicide treatment of Phragmites australis

Presented by: Megan Jordan, Waterloo University

March 8th, 2023 | 10:30–11:30 am ET

Watch Here!
Cut-to-drown management: taking advantage of high Great Lakes water levels to control Phragmites

Presented by: Dr. Wes Bickford, Spenser Widin, & Kaira Liggett, US Geological Survey Great Lakes Science Center

January 17th, 2023 | 10:30–11:30 am ET

*First two minutes of presentation not captured in recording

Watch Here!

Archived Webinar Recordings

TitleDatePresenter(s)Affiliation(s)Contact infoRecording
Gene silencing technologies for invasive Phragmites control5/10/2022P. GongU.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Centerping.gong@usace.army.milwatch here
Flooded Phragmites australis provides habitat for Great Lakes coastal wetland fishes (part 1)4/6/2022M. Croft-White
P. Rupasinghe
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
McMaster University
melanie.croft-white@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
rupasinp@mcmaster.ca
watch here
A tale of two species: Restoring native wild rice through non-native Phragmites management in Green Bay coastal wetlands3/23/2022A. Carrozzino-Lyon
B. Glenzinski
Univeristy of Wisconsin-Green Bay
Ducks Unlimited
carrozzino@uwgb.edu
bglenzinski@ducks.org
watch here
A new tool in the toolbox: an update on biological control of introduced Phragmites2/16/2022M. McTavishUniversity of Toronto & Ducks Unlimitedmichael.mctavish@alum.utoronto.cawatch here
Great Lakes Phragmites Collaborative Students of Phrag Webinar Series: Webinar 67/14/2021V. SesinTrent Universitywatch here
Great Lakes Phragmites Collaborative Students of Phrag Webinar Series: Webinar 56/8/2021S. JacobsonUniversity of Marylandwatch here
Great Lakes Phragmites Collaborative Students of Phrag Webinar Series: Webinar 45/30/2021E. TarsaUtah State University emily.tarsa@usu.eduwatch here
Great Lakes Phragmites Collaborative Students of Phrag Webinar Series: Webinar 35/12/2021R. RobinsonUtah State Universitywatch here
Great Lakes Phragmites Collaborative Students of Phrag Webinar Series: Webinar 24/28/2021B. Downey
J. Haynes
A. Mansingh
A. Rushiti
Wilfred Laurier Universitywatch here
UMISC Phragmites Symposium 2: Future Directions for Research & Management11/5/2020S. TankGreat Lakes Commissionsam@glc.orgwatch here
UMISC Phragmites Symposium 1: Current Approaches to Management11/5/2020S. TankGreat Lakes Commissionsam@glc.orgwatch here
Great Lakes Phragmites Collaborative Students of Phrag Webinar Series3/24/2020C. RobichaudUniversity of Waterloocdrobich@gmail.comwatch here
Great Lakes Phragmites Collaborative Call to Action Pubic Briefing 3/17/2020S. TankGreat Lakes Commissionsam@glc.orgwatch here
Experimental control methods for European Common Reed at rare Charitable Research Reserve2/19/2020S. MarshallRare Charitable Research Reservesarah.marshall@raresites.orgwatch here
Taking advantage of high water levels to control invasive Phragmites along the Lake Huron shoreline1/28/2020J. GilbertInvasive Phragmites Control Centrejanicegilbert@rogers.comwatch here
Fighting Phrag while in flight: Detecting and mapping invasive Phragmites using drones for adaptive management10/2/2019C. Brooks
C. Weinstein
Michigan Tech Research Institutecbrooks@mtu.edu
cbweinst@mtu.edu
watch here
A comparison of field and remote sensing monitoring for adaptive management of Phragmites5/29/2019L. Borgeau-Chavez
P. Higman
A. Grimm
Michigan Technological University
Michigan Natureal Features Inventory
Michigan Technological University
watch here
Mapping Phragmites australis with imagery from an unmanned aerial vehicle2/13/2019R. MohlerSaginaw Valley State Universityrmohler@svsu.eduwatch here
Non-native Phragmites replacement in three Chequamegon Bay wastewater treatment facilities2/6/2019G. VanBergenRed Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewagabriellevb@redcliff-nsn.govwatch here
Case studies and tools: Assessing the performance of stream and wetland restoration10/24/2018K. BrewsterChagrin River Watershed Partnerskbrewster@crwp.orgwatch here
A primer on the user-friendly Mondrian model for wetland ecology and invasive species management7/25/2018B. Currie
J. Martina
K. Elgersma
University of Michigan
Texas A&M University
University of Northern Iowa
watch here
The Great Lakes Phragmites Collaborative: Who we are, what we do, and what’s new!6/28/2018E. Ferrier
S. Stanton
Great Lakes Commissioneferrier@glc.org
sstanton@glc.org
watch here
Seed-based revegetation following Phragmites australis control3/28/2018E. Martin
K. Kettenring
Utah State Universitywatch here
Fate and effects of glyphosate in Phragmites australis control2/7/2018R. RooneyUniversity of Waterloorrooney@uwaterloo.cawatch here
Multi-scale remote sensing for Phragmites detection in southwestern Ontario1/17/2018J. Marcaccio
P. Chow-Fraser
McMaster University watch here
Ecological effects of invasive Phragmites in a Lake Erie coastal marsh12/6/2017C. Robichaud
R. Rooney
University of Waterloocdrobich@uwaterloo.ca
rrooney@uwaterloo.ca
watch here
Phragmites removal increases property values in Michigan’s Lower Grand River watershed11/15/2017E. Nordman
S. Howard
P. Isley
R. Bowman
Grand Valley State University
The Nature Conservancy
Grand Valley State University
The Nature Conservancy
nordmane@gvsu.edu
showard@tnc.org
watch here
Management of invasive Phragmites australis in the Adirondacks: a cautionary tale about prospects of eradication10/25/2017B. Quirion
Z. Simek
A. Dávalos
B. Blossey
The Nature Conservancy
The Nature Conservancy
SUNY Cortland
Cortland University
bquirion@tnc.org
Zachary.simek@tnc.org
bb2@cornell.edu
andrea.davalos@cortland.edu
watch here
Phragmites snorkeling: How does it survive water level fluctuations?8/10/2016B. Sorrell Aarhus Universitybrian.sorrell@biology.au.dkwatch here
Phragmites Management at Multiple Scales: Treatment Comparisons on the Great Salt Lake2/25/2016C. Rohal
C. Cranney
Utah State University
Utah Division of Wildlife Resources
christine.rohal@gmail.com
chadcranney@utah.gov
watch here
Remote Sensing Series Part II: Field and remote sensing methods to inform adaptive management of non-native Phragmites12/10/2015C. BrooksMichigan Technological Research Institutecnbrooks@mtu.eduwatch here
Remote Sensing Series Part I: Monitoring and Assessment of non-native Phragmites australis in terms of Habitat Restoration11/11/2015L. Bourgeau-Chavez
A. Grimm
Michigan Technological Research Institutelchavez@mtu.edu
aggrimm@mtu.edu
watch here
Phragmites Control for Homeowners and Land Stewards6/10/2015B. Williamsbob@phragmites.orgwatch here
Learning-focused decision support for management of Phragmites in the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Refuge System4/28/2015C. MooreUniversity of Georgiactmoore@uga.eduwatch here
Phragmites and Prescribed Fire: Seasonal Prescriptions and Risk – Part 13/12/2015L. OsterlandMI Department of Natural Resourcesosterlandl@michigan.govwatch here
Phragmites and Prescribed Fire: Seasonal Prescriptions and Risk – Part 23/12/2015L. OsterlandMI Department of Natural Resourcesosterlandl@michigan.govwatch here
Phragmites and Climate Change11/12/2014T. MozdzerBryn Mawr Collegetmozdzer@brynmawr.eduwatch here
Phragmites Management in the United States: 40 years of Methods and Outcomes9/30/2014E. HazeltonUtah State Universityeric@hazelton-ecological.comwatch here
Michigan Phragmites Management Prioritization Tool7/30/2014A. Garwood
K. Walters
Michigan Department of Environmental Qualitygarwooda@michigan.gov
waltersk3@michigan.gov
watch here
Invasive Species Management: State Department of Transportation Perspectives6/19/2014P. Dunleavy
T. Jackson
NY State Department of Transportation
IL Department of Transportation
peter.dunleavy@dot.ny.gov
taneka.jackson@illinois.gov
watch here
Outreach and Education Methods for Phragmites Management3/27/2014M. BohlingMichigan Sea Grant Extensionbohling@anr.msu.eduwatch here
Emerging Research: BioControl12/13/2013B. BlosseyCornell Universitybb22@cornell.eduwatch here
Emerging Research: Gene Silencing11/22/2013E. GolenbergWayne State Universitywatch here
Seeds, Stolons and Rhizomes. Oh My! Pathways of introduction and spread of non-native Phragmites.10/3/2013K. KettenringUtah State Universitykarin.kettenring@usu.eduwatch here
Beyond the Burn — Managing Phragmites Using an Adaptive Management Framework8/8/2013R. Fahlsing
B. Clancy
Michigan Department of Natural Resourcesfahlsingr@michigan.govwatch here
Can We Manage Without Herbicide? Lessons Learned from the Ontario Experience4/5/2013J. GilbertWetland Ecologist, Ontariojanicegilbert@rogers.comview slides here
Multiscale Phragmites Mapping and its Applications2/6/2013B. Huberty
L. Bourgeau-Chavez
K. Kowalski
M. Renz
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Servic
Michigan Tech Research Institute
U.S. Geological Survey
University of Wisconsin Madison
brian_huberty@fws.gov
laura.chavez@mtu.edu,
kkowalski@usgs.gov
mrenz@wisc.edu
view slides here
Emerging Research: Microbial Symbiosis1/23/2013K. Kowalski
W. Bickford
U.S. Geological Surveykkowalski@usgs.gov
wbickford@usgs.gov
watch here
Phragmites Management: An Integrated Approach With Lessons From the Field9/6/2012C. May
M. Libben
H. Springborn
The Nature Conservancy
Ottawa Soil and Water Conservation District
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
cmay@tnc.org
mike.libben@ottawaswcd.com
heidi.springborn@wisconsin.gov
watch here
Introducing the Great lakes Phragmites Collaborative7/19/2012H. Braun
K. Kowalski
Great Lakes Commission
U.S. Geological Survey
hbraun@glc.org
kkowalski@usgs.gov
watch here
Interagency Ecological Restoration Quality Committee – PAMF DevelopmentA. DaSilvaU.S. Geological Surveyadasailva@usgs.govwatch here
Benefits of the Great Lakes Phragmites Collaborative and the Phragmites Adaptive Management FrameworkK. Alexander
A. Dasilva
U.S. Geological Surveyadasailva@usgs.gov
kalexander@glc.org
watch here
Manual control of invasive Phragmites: Effective options for small patches.L. ShortHumber Collegelynn.short@humber.cawatch here